Know Your Practitioner, Part IV: Vanessa Mabra

Know Your Practitioner is your chance to become more familiar and comfortable with your massage practitioner. If you aren’t sure which of our talented practitioners would be best for you to come back to regularly, this is a great way to meet them and get to know who they are both personally and professionally. This is Part 4 in the series. To learn more about our other therapists, check out Part 1, Part 2, and Part 3.

As of this posting, Vanessa Mabra is a more recent addition to the GLM team, but she also happens to be our most experienced therapist, having practiced massage for more than seventeen years. Her experience, skill set, and positive attitude stood out immediately as a perfect fit for GLM. In the time she’s been with us, she’s already started building a loyal clientele.

 

Tell us a little something about your personal life. Hobbies, interests, family, friends, etc.
I live on a mini-farm with goats, chickens, ducks, dogs and cats. We grow lots of

Portraits - JessPhotography (3)
Vanessa Mabra, LMP

vegetables and fruit. We make jam in the summer–strawberry and blackberry.

I have a life-long obsession with the Seahawks.

Tell us about your career in massage. How did you get started? What events lead to you working here?
I saw a small massage school in Moscow, Idaho while staying with a friend who was going to Washington State University. I walked in, met the owners, and decided to stay.

After my training, I started with chair massage for two years. I worked in a physical therapy clinic for about fourteen years, but always wanted to do more relaxation and spa work.

What’s your favorite part of this job? What gets you excited to come to work?
Well, for one thing, people are never unhappy to see me. I love to make people walk out of the clinic feeling like jelly.

Pick a superpower: flying or turning invisible. Explain your answer.
I don’t know if I could decide between those two, but I would love to have the ability to read minds. I could give the best massage ever!

We’re all about wellness here. What’s your favorite health habit? 
I stretch every muscle I can, every day. I take 10-15 minutes at night and hold every stretch.

I also drink 8 – 10 cups of water every day.

Finish this statement: I wish my clients knew …
…how much I like working with those new to massage. Although, I worked in physical therapy for so long, I really would rather just have people come for relaxation and de-stressing.

Thanks, Vanessa! This is the fourth part of a series. Watch for more profiles in this series as more practitioners join our team down the line.

Book a massage with Vanessa today!

As with everything on this blog, none of this information should be construed as medical advice or care. The employees of The Good Life Massage, including the writers of this blog, are not medical doctors. Consult with your physician before making any changes to improve your health.

Tom Gunn is the official blogger and marketing director for The Good Life Massage. You can follow him on Twitter @elmanoroboto.

4 thoughts on “Know Your Practitioner, Part IV: Vanessa Mabra

Leave a Reply

