Know Your Practitioner, Part VIII — Lisa Matters, LMP

Meet Lisa MattersLMP

Know Your Practitioner is your chance to meet our great LMPs and help you decide which one will best suit you. You might even learn something about the practitioner you’re already seeing. Our practitioners love building long term relationships with their clients and getting to know their specific needs.

By the way, do you have a favorite practitioner at The Good Life Massage? Leave us a review, and make sure to mention them by name. Your review will help others find the treatment they need from the practitioner who’s right for them. Plus, it’s a great way to say thank you for a job well done.

Today we’d like to introduce you to Lisa Matters, LMP. Lisa’s one of our more experienced massage practitioners. She does fantastic work, and we can’t wait for you to try a massage with her. Her massage combines a healing touch and a firm command of various modalities, making her one of the more skilled treatment practitioners here.

Get to know her by reading the interview or watching the video below.

Book a session with Lisa now!

Tell us about your life at home. What keeps you busy outside of work?
I really enjoy horses a lot. I have a two and a half year old grandson and three children who I try to spend as much time with as I can.

How did you get started in massage? What brought you to The Good Life Massage?
I got into the business about eight years ago. I was having a lot of chronic pain conditions that I sought medical help for, mostly conventional doctors, and no one was able to help me. And I was very frustrated. So I decided to go to massage school. I thought maybe if I learned about anatomy and physiology and about how the body works, then I would learn certain techniques that might be able to help me as well as others who struggle with the same conditions.

I graduated in 2009 from Everest College in Fife. I was offered two different jobs. I eventually started working at Massage Envy, was there for about three years, and then I decided I wanted to be in a more clinical environment because I’ve always been very treatment oriented in my work. So I got a job for a doctor working in Newcastle, and I’ve worked there for four years. And I’m working here at The Good Life Massage as well.

What’s your favorite part of this job?
Everyone’s always happy to see me. Probably just knowing that at the end of the session, there’s going to be something during that session that helped that person with their physical condition, and knowing that is going to enhance their life and make their life easier.

How is your massage unique? What keeps clients coming back for more?
I think my clients return because they know that I truly care for them and their well-being. I’m good at finding the problem, addressing it with the correct modalities and with, usually, immediate results.

What are your favorite health habits?
I think it’s important to take time for yourself, to find something you’re interested in. Practicing good eating habits and regular exercise.

Is there a client you’ve worked on who was particularly memorable?
I recently had someone come in who was having lower body trouble, mainly psiatic pain. He also had a condition called piriformis syndrome, and he was having difficulty with his work, with travelling, and just all of his daily activities. He had been to many therapists before and he hadn’t found any relief. The first time that I worked on him and did the lower body work that I felt was necessary, he was very grateful and left the clinic that day saying how much I had helped change his life already. And the next time that he came in for his session he continued to express to me how grateful he was for everything, all the pain relief that he had experienced, and that he’d never had a therapist do that kind of work on him before and had such relief. He started telling me how he was going to write this big article online about the type of work that I did, and how impressed he was with that.

When a client expresses their gratitude to me for the work that I’ve done, it’s very rewarding. That’s a huge part of this profession. I always knew that it was going to be rewarding to help people, and that was why I went into it. But I had no idea that it was going to be this rewarding. So, to see somebody walk away with such gratitude is huge.

Finish this sentence: “I wish my clients knew …”
I wish my clients knew just how grateful I was to be helping them.

Pick a superpower: flying or being able to turn invisible.
I would fly, but I don’t really know why. [laughs]

Thanks, Lisa!

We couldn’t be more excited to have Lisa on board. Book a session with Lisa now, while you still can! Her hours are limited, and she’s already building a steady following.

Tom Gunn is the blog editor and marketing director for The Good Life Massage. You can reach him at tomgunn@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

